If you are a user of the WP-LinkedIn WordPress plugin and have registered with the LinkedIn API, you probably already received an email from them about the changes to their developer program and are wondering how this is going to affect you.
The short answer is “badly”. Starting on May 12 you will not be able to display your full LinkedIn profile and your recommendations, and you will only have access to your basic profile. Also, showing your network updates will not work anymore.
What is changing?
If you haven’t already I recommend you read those two articles on the LinkedIn Developers’ blog:
Technically, the API won’t change, however they will restrict the set of permissions that can be granted to access the data. Those who still want to get access to their full profile will need to apply to one of LinkedIn’s partnership programs. But when I applied, for this blog, to one of the programs here’s the answer I received:
This API, Apply With LinkedIn, is intended for you to use on a company’s career site, to help candidates easily apply for jobs at your company. Please note that applicants requesting access to this data for any reasons other than this purpose will not be accepted.
On further inquiry they confirmed that I will not be able to get access to my full profile through the API anymore.
The API program is changing in the ways you mentioned and for the reasons mentioned in our blog, https://developer.linkedin.com/blog/posts/2015/developer-program-changes. While we do know it will adversely affect some members it will be a positive change overall.
Basically, LinkedIn is doing the same thing that Twitter did, they restrict access to their API for the developers who don’t bring enough value to their platform (read “traffic”). The fact that this data belongs to you in the first place doesn’t really mater.
What can you do?
You can file a complaint through LinkedIn customers support but I doubt this will help.
What can I do?
Not much, on May 12 I will release version 2 of the plugin that will take those changes into consideration. By default you will only be able to see your basic profile information (see here for a list of what fields we are talking about).
To be able to see your full profile, which includes your recommendations, you will have to apply and be accepted in one their partnership programs. And there’s no access anymore to your personal network updates.
In theory you will still have full access until your access token expires but the new version will need that you request a new token so you probably can hold off to update to the new version until your token expires but I don’t recommend it. Instead (and that’s what I am going to do here) save the HTML which is now generated by the plugin and replace the shortcodes. It will not be dynamic anymore but it will still be here.
How does that affect the multi-users extension?
It doesn’t, this extension will still work the same, but users’ profiles will be limited, as explained earlier.
How does that affect the company extension?
Fortunately, it seems that it will not be affected much. The only new thing is that to show a company profile the plugin must request a new kind of permissions (you will need to request a new token after you updated this plugin) and that you will be restricted to the data of company pages that are administered by the LinkedIn user you used to connect the plugin.
If you have remarks or questions do not hesitate to add a comment.
Image Credits: Sheila Scarborough